December 15 2019 15:14:39


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.

<< December 2019 >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          

You must login to post a message.

10/12/2019 23:21
Week 10 update complete clapping

31/05/2019 22:51
Roll of Honour lists updated thumbup

30/04/2019 22:51
Week 25 update complete thumbup

23/04/2019 22:40
Week 24 update almost done tumble

16/04/2019 22:22
Week 23 update complete. clapping

27/03/2019 00:33
Yasssss! Shotz4 div2 cup champs

19/03/2019 23:33
Week 20 update done thumbup

12/03/2019 23:20
Week 19 update complete clapping

05/03/2019 22:53
Week 18 update complete thumbup

12/02/2019 23:16
Week 17 update complete clapping


News Images: 2017-18_division_2_cup_champions_-_stag_2_-_resized.jpg

Division 2 Cup Champions - Stag 2

Congratulations to the Stag 2, this years Division 2 Cup Champions after a narrow 7-5 victory against Ram’s Heid 2.

The Ram’s looked like they were going to steam roll their way to victory after taking a 4-1 lead but they were pegged back and led 5-4 after the singles. The Stag then stepped it up and took the next three frames to win the Cup!

2017-18 Shotz Singles

News Images: 2017-18_shotz_singles_finalists.jpg

Pictured (l to r): Graham Dunbar (runner up) and Colin Brown (Winner)

The second annual Shotz Singles event took place last Saturday.  Colin Brown fought hard to retain the title he won last year and is still the Shotz Singles Champion! 

Well done to Colin, winning these local events is not easy and retaining the title highlights the standard Colin is currently playing at.  Colin’s opponent in the final was Graham Dunbar, who himself has been playing fantastic so far this season and was looking to add to his recent Masters title win.  Unfortunately it wasn’t to be and Graham was defeated 6-3.

This year’s semi-finalists were David Williams and John Maud.  Thanks go to the sponsors and hosts, Shotz, and also to their staff for keeping the players fed and watered throughout the tournament.

2017-18 ADPL Grassroots

News Images: 2017_adpl_grassroots_finalists.jpg

Photo (l to r) Michael Emslie (Winner), Bobby Din (Sponsor)

and Lee Strachan (Runner-Up)

The 2017-18 ADPL Grassroots competition attracted a good quality field with 62 entries.  The second competition of the ADPL season saw the players head for the Cliffburn.  The early rounds had some exciting matches and they didn’t disappoint where some perceived favourites hit the exit door.
After battling it out the last four saw Michael Emslie face Sam McWalter and Lee Strachan take on teammate Mark Donald.  Michael had to dig deep and fend off Sam in a final frame decider after surrendering a 3-1 lead.  Lee on the other hand played some patient pool and defeated Mark by a 4-0 scoreline.

The final saw two very different players go toe to toe for the title.  Lee got his nose in front at 2-0 but Michael reversed the arrears and it was 2-2.  From there the pendulum swung Michael’s direction and he got himself two frames in front at 4-2.  Lee clawed one frame back but Michael took the next to finish the match and with that is the 2017-18 Grassroots Champion.  Very hard luck to Lee who should still be very pleased with his efforts on the day.

Our thanks are extended to host and sponsor Bobby Din and his team at the Cliffburn Hotel for again tending to our needs and making us all feel so welcome.

***DIVISION 2 ANNOUNCEMENT*** Burns Bar venue change

I have been advised today that the Burns Bar are changing venue, with immediate effect. They will now host their home games at the Abbey Inn.

I have updated the online fixture lists, however, the printed fixture lists are out and obviously cannot be amended. Please bear this in mind when your team is playing away from home.

Kind Regards,
2017 Arbroath Masters

News Images: 2017_adpl_masters_finalists.jpg

2017 Arbroath Masters Finalists (l to r):

Paddy Nicoll (Runner-Up) and Graham Dunbar (Winner)

2017 SIDEY ADPL Singles

2017 Singles Finalists (left to right) Michael Watt (Runner-Up)

and Greg Alexander (Winner)

2017 SIDEY ADPL Doubles

2017 Doubles Finalists (left to right)

Paddy Nicoll, Graham Dunbar (Runners Up) and 

Greg Alexander and David Jack (Winners)

2017 Arbroath Open

Pictured: (left to right) Paddy Nicoll (Runner-Up),

Sandy Beedie (Sponsor) and Jimmy Pollock (Winner)

2017 SIDEY League Division 1 and Knockout Cup Champions

2017 SIDEY League Division 1 and Knockout Cup Champions, Portcullis 1

2017 SIDEY League Division 2 Champions

ADPL Sidey Division 2 Champions, Ram's Heid 1

2017 ADPL Charity Presentation

This year the ADPL presented a cheque for £500 to Macmillan Cancer Support at Finals Day. The cheque was handed over to local representatives Kerry Sidgewick and Gillian Muir, who were in attendance on behalf of the Arbroath Macmillan Cancer Support Committee.  Presenting the cheque are President Gordon Smith and Treasurer Roy Middleton, with some of the pool players watching on.